Note: 40% of small to medium businesses don't back up their data. But with the Sitebuilder, your site is always kept secure.
What is site backup?
Backing up your website means protecting, saving, and archiving your content in several ways at regular intervals. This ensures that your content is safe at all times.
A catastrophic event when your site suddenly vanishes is extremely unlikely. It’s a lot more likely that you might accidentally delete something essential, like an important snippet of custom code. If that happens, you want to be prepared.
Types of site backup
There are two types of backup available at the Sitebuilder: manual and automatic. By default, Sitebuilder will automatically backup your site without any extra thought on your part during the following events:
When you save the website for the fifth time
When you publish your website
Creating a manual backup
After making important changes to the website, you can manually backup your site. Follow these steps:
Go to the main menu and click Settings…
In the Backups tab, click Create site backup:
Give your backup a name, for example, with a date or a note to remind yourself what has been changed:
Click Submit. Your website will be saved and the backup will be visible in the Website backups list:
Restoring your site from a backup
If you want to restore your website to the previously saved version, you can do that by clicking on the backup in the list and confirming your intention in the warning pop-up window that appears:
Once you click Submit, your website's previous version will be automatically restored. Also, a new automatic backup will be created, allowing you to access the current version of the site.
Note: Depending on your plan, you may create a certain number of backups. Check with your provider about how many manual and automatic backups you can create.